Located in Framingham’s Centre Common, the Edgell Memorial Library was built in 1872 and dedicated on February 22, 1873. A distinctive structure with a purple and red slate roof, the Library stands as one of the few remaining Gothic buildings in the area. Opening as the town’s first public library, it was dedicated to the 530 Framingham men who served in the Civil War; tablets inside list the names of 27 locals who were killed in action. When the town moved its library in 1963, the Edgell Memorial Library was saved from destruction by the Framingham Historical Society, and was converted into an exhibition and office space. Within the library’s permanent exhibition is a marble bust of General George H. Gordon, Framingham’s highest ranking officer in the Civil War. The bust was designed by Daniel C. French, and was gifted to the library by members of the Second Massachusetts Infantry. The building also houses the restored colors of the 13th Massachusetts Infantry. In April 2011, restorative work on the Edgell Memorial Library was completed to coincide with the 150th anniversary of the beginning of the Civil War.